Thomas the Tank Engine

When I was little, I just couldn’t do without watching Thomas and Friends on Saturday, at 7:00 am, every week. I would scramble out of bed, run to my parent’s bedroom, open it, turn on the TV, flip to the right channel, and finally, watch Thomas and Friends. All this I could do at the age of 2. It was the most encouraging thing to wake me up on Saturdays.

In case you don’t know what Thomas and Friends are, the TV series was originally a British children’s TV series. They are based off of the “The Railway Series” which were made up when  Rev. W. (Wilbert) Awdry’s son was sick with measles. There are several different trains such as Thomas, Gordon, James, Percy, and Spencer. 

While I watched the show, it made me try to think how the world was, a long time ago. After all, this TV series first aired in 1984. It was based on a real railway which ran in England, and had steam engines. It’s true, it personalized the trains and cranes, but it is realistic at the same time. Without this TV series, I wouldn’t see trains as I would without it.

 

Video from YouTube.

3 Responses

  1. Mrs. Kriese April 15, 2014 at 9:05 pm |

    I’ve heard of Thomas and Friends, but I had no idea about the origins of the show with the reverend’s son’s illness. How interesting. The story puts me in mind of other “backstories” like the motivations of J.M. Barrie and Peter Pan or J.R.R. Tolkien and The Lord of the Rings…the inspirations behind creativity.

    Reply
  2. ryanb611 April 20, 2014 at 10:59 pm |

    When i was little, Thomas the Train toys were one of the coolest things ever. I never watched the show, but I would spend hours playing with large, sprawling train tracks. I think its awesome how Thomas the Train is loved by thousands of kids everywhere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar